Maritime Security Resilience Council

Identify – Protect – Detect – Respond – Recover

The MPS-ISAO serves as a trusted collaborative facilitating open dialogue, critical insight and thought exchange linking public- and private-sector Maritime and Port critical infrastructure owners and operators to enable and sustain cyber resilience. :

For the MPS-ISAO to effectively and successfully advance cyber resilience requires the leadership and expertise represented by the MPS-ISAO Leadership Advisory Board and Strategic Advisors. Comprised of Maritime and Port stakeholders, each Advisory Board Member engages with a defining voice to:


  • Enable management of Maritime & Port critical infrastructure security risks to physical, human and cyber elements
  • Enhance all-hazards preparedness and resilience of the Maritime & Port Transportation System to safeguard national, and international interest
  • Discuss and advise on issues and challenges of strategic important to the Maritime and Port critical infrastructure
  • Provide guidance and support to advance achievement of the MPS-ISAO’s mission, goals and objectives.
  • Contribute to defining and delivering scalable, flexible, and adaptable cyber resilience solutions, represented in the products and services by the MPS-ISAO.
  • Support implementation of processes for effective collaboration to share mission-essential information within and across sectors (public and private)
  • Participate in defining and operationalizing Maritime & Port Cyber Resilience leading practice supported by role-based workforce education.




MPS-ISAO Leadership Advisory Board


  • AUSTAL USA – Jason Welch, Director of Security
  • BP – Peter Watts, Global Cyber Intelligence Advisor
  • Crowley
  • Maher Terminals – Laura Markham, VP IT Operations
  • Ports America – John L. Esposito, VP Safety and Security
  • Port Manatee – David St. Pierre, Director of Seaport Security
  • Port of South Louisiana – Brian Cox, Director of Operations
  • Port of South Louisiana – Lester Millet III, Policy & Planning Director, Safety Risk Agency Mgr.
  • Port Tampa Bay – Mark Dubina, VP of Security
  • Seaspan Ship Management Ltd.
  • Andy Schwalb, CIO/CTO, Virgin Voyages

MPS-ISAO Strategic Advisors

  • ABS Advanced Solutions – Capt. David Nichols, United States Coast Guard (USCG) (Ret.), Business Development Director
  • American Bureau of Shipping – John Jorgensen, CISSP-ISSAP, Chief Scientist, ABS CyberSafety™
  • Cyber Mariner – Chris DeWitt, Sr. Technical Advisory for Maritime / Offshore OT Cyber Security
  • John Jay College Auxiliary University – Dr. Susan Pickman, Faculty Advisor and USCG Auxiliary Flotilla Staff Officer
  • International Association of Certified ISAOs (IACI) – Michael Echols, CEO, Former Director Joint Program Management Office, Private-Sector Information Sharing, Enhanced Cybersecurity Service (ECS) and the Cyber Information Sharing and Collaboration Program (CISCP)
  • Gary Kessler Associates – Gary C. Kessler, Ph.D., CISSP and Principal Consultant, Fathom5
  • SecureXperts, Inc. – Desiree Carter, Executive VP/COO
  • SecureXperts, Inc. – Darnell Washington, President and CEO
  • Louisiana State University – Brant Mitchell, Director for Stephenson Disaster Management Institute
  • Tiffin University – Scott Blough, Executive Director for Cyber Defense & Forensics
  • TrueCouse Advisory Services – James Dean, President & CEO
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign – Randall Sandone, Executive Director for Critical infrastructure Resilience Institute